Menu:



Margot Bai

On this page:
Print Reviews

Website Reviews

Reader Reviews

Individual Reviews

Reviews

Spend Smarter, Save Bigger is getting rave reviews! Don't take our word for it, see what others are saying:



Print

MoneySense Magazine

October 2007"Must reads: Our picks of the best new books about money and markets - Spend Smarter, Save Bigger by Margot Bai (White Knight, $19.95): If you think saving money is about nothing more than wearing second-hand clothes and living on baked beans, think again. This book provides a myriad of tips on how to save on your home, mortgage car, insurance and investments. OUR TAKE: Think of this book as an anti-catalogue - a compendium of smart ways not to spend money. It's a worthwhile purchase for anyone looking to trim his or her expenses."


Websites

Canadian Capitalist Web Log

January 30, 2007 - "The book is well-written, easy-to-read, provides sound financial advice and deserves a spot on the best-seller list. I recommend it highly..." - CC, Ottawa, ON. (Full review here)


canadian dream: free at 45

March 5, 2007 - "...it is the best general personal finance book I have ever read." - CD, Canada. (Full review here)

Million Dollar Journey

March 2, 2007 - "I give it two thumbs UP! Great book that is written clearly and flows nicely which makes it an extremely easy book to read. It provides a comprehensive all in one book..." - MDJ, Canada. (Full review here)

Canadian Business Online

March 12, 2007 - "It's a well-written book that will appeal to people who want to get control of their personal finances and achieve financial freedom sooner rather than later." - Larry MacDonald, Canada. (Full review here)



Readers


Canadian Road Map to Financial Freedom 5 stars
January 27, 2007 - "It's full of common sense and also some very innovative ways to save big on life's big expenses ... Spend Smarter was suggested to me by a family member, and I'd recommend it to others." - Doug D., Dundas, ON. (Full review here)

A great read! A great message! 5 stars
January 6, 2007 - "Margot explains complex ideas in precise and simple terms. This book gives you the feeling that smart financial planning is not hard work but simply a personal lifestyle change for the better. I enjoyed it very much and I am benefiting from her knowledge already." - Rob D., Ajax, ON. (Full review here)

Practical guide, fun to read 5 stars
January 6, 2007 - "Three comments about the book, practical, practical and practical. ... a lot of real life examples.... It's so much fun to read than most of the investment books that I can find. What I like most are the chapters about mutual fund and house investment. Believe me, most Chinese people are big savers, but quite risk averse about investing in any kind." - Dongwei Y., Toronto, ON. (Full review here)

Practical ,Essential and thought provoking!!! 5 stars
December 13, 2006 - "It was a great "read" -easy to understand with excellent real life examples. The Chapters on the "ins and outs" of mutual funds RRSP's, Investing and Mortgages were all filled with practical tips for the starting investor as well as the seasoned saver. Your writing style and practical examples made understanding and grasping the core investing and planning principles easy. With personable style the core points were re-enforced with the Cheat Sheets at the end of each "life lesson". I will not hesitate to recommend your book to my younger AND older friends" - Rod L., Mount Albert, ON. (Full review here)



Individual Reviews

October 22, 2007 - "I loved your book and it now resides in my library with markers throughout. Thank you for making many issues clearer like: auto choice and negotiations; fund family investing; and the confusion we feel between RRSP and mortgage payments." - Melody D., Vancouver, BC

September 14, 2007 - "I have read your book. I'm a financial planner in Hull, Quebec since 12 years. You wrote one of the best book on the market for personal finance. I encourage you promote your book, and one day, I'm sure, it will become a bestseller." - Daniel St-Denis, Hull, QC

January 13, 2007 - "I purchased your book last Saturday at Indigo in Richmond Hill and it is the best purchase I have made in a long time. I am on my way to financial freedom. While reading your book I was inspired to move some savings out of an account to pay off a credit line. Upon signing into my account, I saw that my credit card had been compromised and about $5000.00 of fraud had taken place. Thanks to your book and the inspiration it granted me, I was able to catch it before it got any worse. Thanks for the great advice and I am looking forward to putting it all to use!" - Sarah F., Richmond Hill, ON

October 2006 - "Spend Smarter, Save Bigger is a practical guide to increasing one's personal wealth that's easy to understand and straight forward to implement. It tackles the major money issues of life and empowers you to make great financial decisions that will pay off in the long term. Spend Smarter, Save Bigger helped to improve my money management skills and gave me tools to build a solid financial future for my family. Margot's down to earth approach demonstrates that you don't have to be rich to become wealthy. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to take control of their own financial destiny." - Paul B., Bolton, ON.

September 2006 - "In a society where we're expected to "spend, spend, spend," it's refreshing to read a personal finance book based on common sense and realistic expectations. Spend Smarter, Save Bigger reveals the secret savings available on all your biggest expenses. Whether buying a car, obtaining a mortgage, or setting up your investments, you will save thousands of dollars each year toward your future. Anyone following the principles of this book can find financial security, regardless of economic circumstances." - Heather Power, Stouffville, ON.